Little words you shouldn’t use

Firstly apologies for not posting for a couple of days, I have been extremely busy applying for jobs and revising. Today I read my script with my best mate and we wrote a detailed summary for it, which I believe is important for any writer to have as it gives you a resource that you can give to anyone that maybe doesn’t have the time to read your script but still wants to know roughly what happens.

For my blog post today I am focusing on two words you shouldn’t use- Ever. Chuck them in a metaphorical bin. They are: so and very. They are, in my opinion, lazy words and they can easily be avoided and usually by omitting these words you end up with more sophisticated vocabulary in your writing.

For example:

He was so tired because he hadn’t slept the night before.

Because of his sleep deprived state, his eyelids were drooping as he forced himself to stay awake.

The omission of so helps you to think of a better word and also think about how you can improve the sentence as a whole.

This is a piece of  advice that I wanted to pass on to all you budding authors as it is extremely easy to fall into the trap of continually using words like these instead of challenging yourself to improve your vocabulary.

See you tomorrow!

Catriona

Leave a Reply

